Posted by: Jessie Kwak | October 30, 2009

Have I mentioned how much I miss hops? or, An ode to Chez Philippe.

Have I mentioned how much I miss hops? I haven’t really. Not much on the blog, at least. Rob’s sick of hearing about it, but that’s really just part of the bargain: marry Jessie, listen to her constantly critique the beer and coffee she drinks.

So with that said, I want you all to know that I miss hops very much. Peruvian beer is deliciously refreshing on a hot sunny day, but really it is just pale-yellow fizzy water and does not hold a candle to even the most mediocre of US India Pale Ales. Even the Peruvian microbrews I’ve tasted just don’t cut it, with their strange citrusy flavor. Please, I’ll even take a McMenamins! (And those of you who know how little I enjoy their beer now understand just how desperate I’ve become over the past two months.)

20091027_Lima-8933

Someone get this girl some hops!

I first read about Chez Philippe in Living in Peru, and I’ve been dreaming about it ever since. They advertise over 70 different imported beers from England, France, Belgium, and Germany, as well as spectacular French cuisine.

We tried three times last week to make it to this limeño beer oasis, but it turns out that they’re not open Mondays, and on Sundays only until 5pm. On Tuesday I was disheartened and willing to give up, but Rob convinced me to give it one more go before we left Lima.

And it was…. OPEN!

20091027_Lima-8925

My new favorite person!

We were the only customers for most of the time (5pm on a Tuesday), and we certainly enjoyed ourselves, poring over the beer menu and trying not to drool on the tablecloth. I pounced on the first IPA I saw, from Greene King brewing company, and Rob tried Samuel Smith’s Best Ale. The IPA was pretty tame compared to what I’m used to (I miss you, Elysian!), so we ended up switching halfway through.

We ordered some garlic bread to fortify us for the next course: Greene King’s Ruddles County for me, and Fuller’s Honeydew for Rob. Although the beer selection is big in numbers, it’s actually pretty small as far as brands. Philippe himself came out to chat with us as we were leaving, and told us that there is only one distributor, so the options are limited. Unfortunately there’s as of yet no United States beer distributor here….

20091027_Lima-8934

*drool....*

Check out the Chez Philippe site to peruse their beer list (beware of the overly-exuberant flash, and the music). And do check them out if you’re in Lima!

 

Share

Responses

  1. yo,
    were in Huaraz right now and we went to the sister restaurant here, B and B pizza. They also advertised imported beer but I was not impressed, mostly British ales (what I wouldn’t give for a Ruination or a Lagunitas IPA)

    Im hoping for some Hops in Lima.


Leave a Reply

Categories

